Les experts

Joanna Cohen, PhD, MHSc
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Joanna Cohen est professeur agrégé de prévention des maladies et directrice de l'Institute for Global Tobacco Control de la Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Le Dr Cohen est titulaire d'un PhD en politique et administration de la santé de la University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill) et d'un M. Sc. S en santé et épidémiologie communautaires de la University of Toronto. Depuis 20 ans, elle participe activement aux recherches en matière de politiques de lutte contre le tabagisme. En tant que spécialiste de l'épidémiologie et des politiques sanitaires, elle concentre ses recherches sur les facteurs qui influencent l'adoption et la mise en œuvre des politiques de santé publique et sur l'évaluation des effets bénéfiques et des conséquences inattendues de ces politiques. Ses travaux ont porté sur des études de législateurs relatives aux tabagisme et aux politiques antitabac, une cohorte longitudinale de fumeurs visant à identifier les facteurs favorisant le sevrage, la promotion du tabac au point de vente, les prix et la taxation du tabac, le conditionnement des produits du tabac, les solutions permettant de réduire la disponibilité des produits du tabac et l'interférence de l'industrie du tabac dans la lutte antitabac.

Introduction et exposé des objectifs de la formation

Annette David, MD, MPH, FACOEM
Health Partners, L.L.C.
Annette David, MD, assume de nombreuses responsabilités. Elle est notamment associée principale pour les services de conseil sanitaire de Health Partners, L.L.C. (Guam), présidente du Guam State Epidemiological Workgroup for Substance Abuse Prevention (groupe de travail épidémiologique de Guam pour la prévention des toxicomanies), professeur adjoint au Cancer Research Center de la University of Guam, professeur clinique agrégé au Cancer Center de la University of Hawaï et consultante technique pour le programme de prévention et de lutte contre le tabagisme du Department of Public Health and Social Services (ministère de la santé publique et des services sociaux) de Guam. Elle est également membre de l'American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine et du Philippine College of Physicians. Elle a occupé auparavant le poste de conseillère régionale de l'initiative pour un monde sans tabac dans le Pacifique occidental de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé.

Les meilleures pratiques pour la lutte antitabac à l'échelle internationale

Javaid Khan, MBBS
Aga Khan University
Le Dr Khan a trouvé un équilibre professionnel entre ses responsabilités de professeur et de directeur du département de médecine pulmonaire et intensive de l'Aga Khan University à Karachi (Pakistan), ses travaux de recherche clinique et un activisme de longue date dans la lutte contre le tabagisme. Il a surveillé les activités de l'industrie du tabac, abordé la problématique du tabagisme lors de congrès médicaux, exhorté le gouvernement du Pakistan à prendre des mesures antitabac plus draconiennes et moins favorables aux fabricants, et participé à des campagnes médiatiques pour soutenir la lutte contre le tabagisme. Il est président de la National Alliance for Tobacco Control Pakistan, une coalition modèle rassemblant les principaux acteurs de la lutte antitabac dans le pays.

Participation des professionnels de santé à la lutte antitabac

Bhavesh Modi, MD, MPH, MBA
Gouvernement du Gujarat, India
Bhavesh Modi, MD, est professeur agrégé de médecine préventive et sociale pour le gouvernement du Gujarat (Inde). Outre des cours et des formations dispensés aux étudiants en médecine de premier, deuxième et troisième cycles en Inde, il a dirigé les travaux techniques, programmatiques et administratifs de la State Tobacco Control Cell du gouvernement de Gujarat, le projet pour un monde sans tabac soutenu par l'initiative Bloomberg des districts d'Ahmedabad et de Gandhinagar, ainsi que le projet STEPS (Strengthening of Tobacco Control Efforts through Innovative Partnerships and Strategies) soutenu par la Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, dans le Gujarat. Le Dr Modi a soutenu et mis en relation les différents ministères publics et autres acteurs clés pour planifier et promouvoir les actions de lutte antitabac dans l'État du Gujarat. Il est un précieux recours pour le programme de lutte mondiale antitabac de la Johns Hopkins, ainsi que pour le programme national de collaboration TB/VIH en Inde. Le Dr Modi est titulaire d'un MBBS et d'un MD (médecine préventive et sociale) de la Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda (Inde) et a récemment obtenu un MPH et un MBA à la Johns Hopkins University.

Consommation de tabac

Peter Selby, MBBS, CCFP, FCFP, MHSc, dipABAM
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)
Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto

Peter Selby, MD, est directeur du programme Toxicomanies et clinicien chercheur au Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH). Il est également professeur agrégé à la University of Toronto, dans les départements de médecine familiale et communautaire et de psychiatrie, ainsi qu'à la Dalla Lana School of Public Health. Il est directeur exécutif et fondateur du projet TEACH à la University of Toronto, un programme de formation continue au conseil en santé mentale axé sur le sevrage tabagique. En tant qu'investigateur principal à l'Unité de recherche sur le tabac de l’Ontario, le Dr Selby a mené entre autres des études sur le sevrage tabagique, en particulier chez les fumeurs présentant des comorbidités, et sur les interventions Web. En qualité d'investigateur principal de l'étude STOP, il a examiné l'efficacité des médicaments et du traitement de substitution nicotinique (TSN) dans divers contextes d'intervention.

Le Dr Selby a publié plus d'une centaine d'articles évalués par des pairs et révisé trois ouvrages (dont un sur le traitement de la dépendance au tabac). Il donne fréquemment des conférences sur la dépendance au tabac et sur la motivation au changement de comportement. Il est membre du réseau d'entrevue motivationnelle (Motivational Interviewing Network of Trainers).

L'aide au sevrage tabagique

Les travaux supplémentaires de traduction de cette formation ont été effectués par:

  • Language Scientific
  • Tatiana Andreeva
  • Emmanuelle Bequinot
  • Elaine De Leon
  • Daniela Guedes
  • Roberto Hess de Souza
  • Ryan Kennedy
  • Shaymaa Mousa
  • Cindy Nguyen
  • Maria Skatova
  • Hong Thanh
  • Huyan Dao Thanh
  • Jingyan Yang
  • Anjie Zhen

The Experts

Joanna Cohen, PhD, MHSc
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Joanna Cohen is the Bloomberg Associate Professor of Disease Prevention and the Director of the Institute for Global Tobacco Control at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Dr. Cohen obtained her PhD in Health Policy and Administration from the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill and her MHSc in Community Health and Epidemiology from the University of Toronto. She has been involved in tobacco policy research for 20 years. Trained in epidemiology and health policy, her research interests focus on the factors that affect the adoption and implementation of public health policies and on evaluating the beneficial effects and the unintended consequences of such policies. She has worked on studies of legislators regarding tobacco and tobacco control policy, a longitudinal cohort of smokers focusing on factors influencing quitting behavior, tobacco promotion at the point of sale, tobacco prices including taxes, tobacco packaging, options for reducing the physical availability of tobacco products, and tobacco industry interference in tobacco control.

Introduction and Statement of Course Goals

Annette David, MD, MPH, FACOEM
Health Partners, L.L.C.
Annette David, MD, assumes many responsibilities, including being Senior Partner for health consulting services at Health Partners, L.L.C. (Guam), Chair at Guam State Epidemiological Workgroup for Substance Abuse Prevention, Adjunct Research Professor at the University of Guam Cancer Research Center, Associate Clinical Professor at University of Hawai'i Cancer Center, and Technical Consultant for the Tobacco Prevention and Control Program in the Guam Department of Public Health and Social Services. She is also a fellow of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine and the Philippine College of Physicians. She was formerly the Regional Adviser for the Western Pacific Tobacco Free Initiative at the World Health Organization.

Dr. David's interests lie in bridging the technical aspects of public health, particularly in the areas of prevention and health promotion, with practical, real-world applications that help empower and build capacity for healthy communities and environments. She received her MPH at Columbia University, completed her residency in internal medicine at the State University of New York - Stony Brook, and served her post-graduate fellowship in occupational and environmental medicine at Yale University.

Best Practices in International Tobacco Control

Javaid Khan, MBBS
Aga Khan University
Dr. Khan balances his teaching duties as professor and head of pulmonary and critical care medicine at the Aga Khan University in Karachi, Pakistan with clinical work and a well-documented career in tobacco control activity. He has monitored the tobacco industry's activities, raised tobacco issues at medical meetings, pressed the government of Pakistan for a tougher, less industry-friendly policy on tobacco, and taken part in media activities to support tobacco control. He is chairman of the National Alliance for Tobacco Control Pakistan, a model coalition of key tobacco control stakeholders in the country.

Involving Health Professionals in Tobacco Control

Bhavesh Modi, MD, MPH, MBA
Government of Gujarat , India
Bhavesh Modi, MD, is an Associate Professor of Preventive and Social Medicine for the Government of Gujarat, India. In addition to teaching and training undergraduate and post-graduate medical students in India, he has provided technical, programmatic, and administrative leadership to the State Tobacco Control Cell of the Government of Gujarat, the Bloomberg Initiative-supported Smoke-free Ahmedabad and Gandhinagar districts project, and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation-supported STEPS (Strengthening of Tobacco Control Efforts through Innovative Partnerships and Strategies) project in Gujarat. Dr. Modi supported and liaised with different government departments and other key stakeholders for planning and facilitating tobacco control activities in the state of Gujarat. He is a resource for both the Global Tobacco Control program at Johns Hopkins and for the national TB/HIV collaboration program of India. Dr. Modi completed his MBBS and MD (Preventive and Social Medicine) at the Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda, India, and recently received both an MPH and an MBA from Johns Hopkins University.

Tobacco Consumption

Peter Selby, MBBS, CCFP, FCFP, MHSc, dipABAM
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)
Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto

Peter Selby, MD, is the Chief of the Addictions program and a Clinician Scientist at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH). He is also an Associate Professor at the University of Toronto in the departments of Family and Community Medicine, Psychiatry, and at the Dalla Lana School of Public Health. He is the executive director and creator of the TEACH project at University of Toronto: a continuing education certificate program in applied counseling for health, with a focus on smoking cessation. Dr. Selby's research as a principal investigator at the Ontario Tobacco Research Unit includes smoking cessation, especially in smokers with comorbid conditions, and web-based interventions. As a principal investigator of the STOP study, he has examined the effectiveness of nicotine replacement therapy (NRT) and medications in a variety of intervention settings.

Dr. Selby has published over 100 peer-reviewed articles, edited three books (including one on the treatment of tobacco addiction), and lectures widely on tobacco addiction and motivating behavior change. He is a member of the Motivational Interviewing Network of Trainers.

Helping People Quit Tobacco

This activity was directed by David Holtgrave, PhD, Professor and Department Chair, Health, Behavior, and Society, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Additional work on the translation of this course was completed by:

  • Language Scientific
  • Tatiana Andreeva
  • Emmanuelle Bequinot
  • Elaine De Leon
  • Daniela Guedes
  • Roberto Hess de Souza
  • Ryan Kennedy
  • Shaymaa Mousa
  • Cindy Nguyen
  • Maria Skatova
  • Hong Thanh
  • Huyan Dao Thanh
  • Jingyan Yang
  • Anjie Zhen